The Origin of Pu’er Tea

Pu’er tea is a product of Xishuangbanna Dai Autonomous Prefecture, Pu’er City, Lincang City, Baoshan City, and other regions in Yunnan Province. It is mainly grown in the west, southwest, and basin of the Lancang River. Pu’er tea is typically classified into four major production areas (north to south): Baoshan Tea Area, Lincang Tea Area, Pu’er Tea Area, and Banna Tea Area.

Major Production Area of Puer Tea


  • This area has the largest output in Menghai County and Mengla Yiwu County.
  • Significant places of origin in Menghai County include Mengsong, Nannuo Mountain, Pasha, Hekai, Blang Mountain, Laomane, Bada Mountain, and other areas.
  • Famous origin places in Yiwu Tea District include Fengfeng Stronghold, Dingjia Stronghold, Luoshuidong, Yifanmo, Mahei, and Gaoshan Stronghold.

2. Pu’er Tea Area

  • The most famous production area is Qianjia Village in Lancang County and other areas like Jingmai, Bangwei, Jinggu, and Zhenyuan County.

3. Lincang Tea Area

  • Main production areas are Shuangjiang County, Bangdong, Fengqing, and Mengku Town.
  • “Eighteen villages” in the east and west of Mengku Town are known for their tea, with the five villages in Iceland being the most popular.
  • Bangdong rock tea is famous, with Daxueshan and Xigui also being popular teas in recent years.
  • Fengqing County also produces some tea, but some of it is made into Yunnan black tea and is well-known.

4. Baoshan Tea District

  • Baoshan is located in the west of Yunnan Province, at the southern end of the western longitudinal valley of the Hengduan Mountains.
  • With diverse and complex terrain, the area has a range of elevations from 535 meters to 3780.9 meters of Naozi Peak of Gaoligong Mountain in Tengchong County.
  • Baoshan has favorable natural conditions for tea growth, making it an important origin of Yunnan “Dianhong” and Pu’er tea.
  • Places within Baoshan City such as Changning, Tengchong, Longling, and Shidian have a large area of tea production.
  • Out of the four major Pu’er tea-producing areas in Yunnan, Baoshan has the highest latitude, lowest average altitude, lowest annual temperature, and lowest annual precipitation.


In conclusion, Pu’er tea is a well-known type of tea originating from various places in Yunnan Province, China. The four major production areas of Pu’er tea are Baoshan Tea Area, Lincang Tea Area, Pu’er Tea Area, and Banna Tea Area, each with its own unique characteristics and reputation. From the high-altitude Naozi Peak of Gaoligong Mountain in Baoshan to the famous tea strongholds of Xishuangbanna, Pu’er tea is a testament to the diversity and rich cultural heritage of Yunnan Province.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close